Former Lab Members


Divya Nandakumar (Postdoc 2016-2020, currently on the market for a job in a biotech company lucky enough to recruit her in Zurich, CH)

Mandy Muller (Damon Runyon Postdoctoral fellow 2013-2017, now an Assistant Professor of Microbiology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst)

Carolin Vogt (DADD PRIME visiting fellow 2015-2016, now a postdoc at Hannover Medical School Institute of Virology)

John Karijolich (Damon Runyon Postdoctoral fellow 2012-2016, now a tenured Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at Vanderbilt University)

Marta Gaglia (Postdoc 2009-2014, now a tenured Associate Professor of Microbiology at Tufts University)

Stephanie Hutin (Postdoc 2011-2013, now a Research Engineer at Institut de Biologie Structurale, France)

Karen Clyde (Postdoc 2007-2011, now a Senior Staff Scientist/Manager at Thermo Fisher Scientific)

Yeon Lee (Postdoc 2007-2011, now a Staff Scientist at UC Berkeley Center for RNA Systems Biology)

PhD Students:

Christopher Duncan Lewis (MCB PhD student/HHMI Gilliam Fellow 2015-2020, now an Associate Scientist at 23andMe Therapeutics)

Aaron Schaller (MCB PhD student/NSF Fellow 2014 – 2019, now a Co-founder/CSO of MeliBio, Inc.)

Angelica Flores Castañeda (PMB PhD student/NSF Fellow 2013-2019, now a Scientist at Scribe Therapeutics)

Charles Hesser (MCB PhD student 2013-2018, now a Postdoc at Northwestern University)

Matthew Gardner (SPH PhD student  2012-2018, now a Biochemical Lead at Scribe Therapeutics)

Sarah Gilbertson (MCB PhD student 2013-2018, now a Postdoc at University of Alabama Birmingham)

Zoe Davis (SPH PhD student 2010-2015, Postdoc at Stanford University 2015-2019)

Emma Abernathy (PMB PhD student 2010-2015, Postdoc at Stanford University 2015-2019, now a Research Scientist at Gilead Sciences)

Lisa Kronstad (PMB PhD student 2008-2013, Postdoc at Stanford University 2013-2019, now an Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at Midwestern University)

Renuka Kumar (PMB PhD student 2007-2012, Postdoc at UCSF 2012-2015, now Virology Program Leader at the Gladstone Institutes)

Sergio Covarrubias (SPH PhD student 2006-2012, Postdoc at UCSF 2012-2016, now a Scientist II at BioMarin Pharmaceutical)

Justin Richner (PMB PhD student 2006-2011, Postdoc at Washington University 2011-2016 , now an Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Illinois Chicago)

Undergraduate researchers:

Lola Kushnir (Current: Research Technician)

Kristina Atanasoff (Amgen Scholar; Current: PhD student)

Aditya Srivastava (Current; UCB undergrad)

Desmond Richmond-Buccola (Current: PhD student)

Yamira Ortiz-Alejandre (B2B program)

Alex Moon-Walker (Amgen Scholar, Current: PhD student)

Apurva Govande (Honors thesis; Current: PhD student)

Oliver Marigold (Honors thesis; Current: MD)

Aprilgate Wang (Current: MD/MPH student)

Michael Espino (Current: MD/PhD)

Jimin Park (Current: PhD)

Bret Peterson (Honors thesis; Current: PhD)

Mansee Desai (Honors thesis; Current: MD)

Anchal Ahuja

Wesley Wong (Honors thesis; Current: PhD)

Elise Peauroi (Honors thesis: Current: PhD-Dr. of Veterinary Medicine)

Alison Gee

Ryan Rivera

Grant King (Amgen Scholar; Current: PhD)

Aref Senno (Current: MD)

Delilah Zimmermann

Kevin Kleffman (Current: MD/PhD)

Jacinda Nim

James Russell (Current: PhD)

Leona Shum

Tina Wang (Current: PhD)

Benson Cheng (Current: PhD)

Gaurav Kumar (Current: MD)

Angela Jones (Current: MPH)

Michelle Choi

Angelo Cabal

Chris Ferguson

Max Egan


Abla Harara (Current: Thermo Fisher Scientific)

Christopher Hann-Soden (Current: PhD)

James Wang

Tina Tran (Current: Pharmacist)